Amazon / Articles / Crazy Deals

Amazon Now Collecting Sales Tax in 45 States

DISCLOSURE: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we receive a commission.

amazonIf you’ve noticed recently that Amazon as added sales taxes to your orders, you’re not alone. Starting April 1st, Amazon will be collecting sales tax in Hawaii, Idaho, Maine and New Mexico. That means that 45 states will now be collecting sales tax from Amazon purchases. So what’s going on with the last 5 states?  Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon have no sales tax, while Alaska, doesn’t have a statewide tax, but it does have municipal sales taxes. Why did Amazon make the sudden change to add sale tax?

Typically, an online retailer like Amazon, only has to collect sales tax in states where they have stores physically. But this cost states $17.2 billion in lost sales taxes last year.  After some controversy and court cases, Amazon will no longer be tax free. If you want to read more about the FAQs on sales tax from Amazon head to their page here.

What do you think of adding sales tax to your Amazon purchases? Will that affect your shopping on Amazon in the future?

Share This Post

- Sign up for text alerts by texting the word FREEBIES to 48421
- Subscribe to our newletter

1 Comment

  1. I don’t have a problem; with amazon charging sales tax. It will be increased revenue for the state I live in and we need that. If I were buying the items in a store I would pay tax so it doesn’t bother me at all to pay tax for online purchases.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Lost Password